No we’re not talking about the national election slated for 2020, we’re talking about local Westminster elections. While they may lack the pomp and prestige of a presidential election, local elections are still very important and can have major impacts on your daily life.

A Reshaping of the Common Council

This year three seats of Westminster’s Common Council are open and need to be filled. There are six different candidates, all vying for the same three seats. We wanted to take some time today to list out the candidates, along with a video profiling what each candidate is about.

Kate Carter

Steven Colella

Kevin Dayhoff

Ann Thomas Gilbert

Jessica M. Laird

Greg Pecoraro


When and Where to Vote

The polls will open at 7am on Tuesday May 14, 2019 and will close at 8pm. Any absentee ballots must be submitted by the time the polls close.

Anyone who lives west of MD31 will need to vote at the Community Building, 325 Royer Road. While anyone living East of MD31 will vote at John Street Quarters, 28 John Street.

For more information visit the Westminster city government page.